Hyperparameter optimization: randomsplit vs scaffold split?

Hi Guys,

I was wondering whether I need different Hyper-parameters for my model depending whether I am random or scaffold splitting.

So lets say I want to compare the performance of my model with random and then scaffold split. Would I optimize the hyper-parameters for one of the two and then use the same ones for the other model. Or would I optimize them separately.

Is their a consensus or papers who have a similar issue?

I’m not an expert on this, but I can’t think of a good reason for using different hyperparameters. Your training set will be very similar whichever splitting method you use. After all, it contains most of your data, so all splits will produce training sets that have the majority of their samples in common.

The real difference is in the test and validation sets. Do they have samples that are overly similar to the training data, or have you carefully chosen test samples to be distinct from the training ones?

Seconding @peastman’s opinion here. Typically better to use a common set of hyperparameters. Usually the goal is to find a robust set of hyperparameters that can generalize to unseen examples from elsewhere (when the model is used in the wild)

Yes I understand. But I think using a random split, is an easier task for the model because it does not need to predict for scaffolds it did not see before.

However, with the scaffold splitting you train the model to make out-of-distribution predictions ( predict molecules which scaffold it has never seen during training), so maybe different model parameters favor one of the other approaches.

1 Like

In general, I’d recommend choosing the hardest split possible when choosing model parameters. Random is definitely an easier task than scaffold. Scaffold has some issues as well. Time splits are likely better if you’re lucky enough to have timestamps on data (and I’ve seen some time-scaffold splits floating around).