Google Summer of Code 2022: Ferminet Model implementation for deepchem

Hey everyone!

I am Shaipranesh S. I will be working with DeepChem this summer as a GSoC student.

About me

I am a sophomore at the Birla Institute of Technology and Science, Pilani. I am passionate about Machine Learning and am interested in building Machine Learning models for scientific applications. Since February, I have been a part of DeepChem’s community and am incredibly excited to work with all of you and hoping!

Contact Details

About the Project

My project aims to add a model to deepchem called the ferminet, a deep-learning-based variational Monte Carlo technique used to add accuracy to wavefunctions obtained from the Hartree-Fock method by including the electron correlation factor. The model is a permutation equivariant neural network and involves a second-order optimizer and an MCMC sampler.

Project description is available here.

I am excited about this project, and do follow this thread to see my weekly updates!!

4 Likes

General updates for this week:
-Updated 1 PR: Adding DeepQMC tutorial by shaipranesh2 · Pull Request #2914 · deepchem/deepchem (github.com)

Updated the description text and code according to the suggestions gave by Tony and Peter.

-Issued a new PR: Adding Metropolis Hasting sampler[WIP] by shaipranesh2 · Pull Request #2935 · deepchem/deepchem (github.com)

Put up a draft PR for the MCMC sampler for electron sampling.

Had a few questions regarding the asymmetric sampling of the sampler and got it clarified with Dr. David Pfau(one of the authors of Ferminet).

And have some ambiguity for sampling for ions, which I hope to get it cleared within next week on how the electrons lost or gained should be added to which atom of the molecule specifically? (This might not be an issue for diatomic and monoatomic ions)

Future work:

-Adding Unit tests for electron sampler and formatting to deepchem guidelines.