Google Summer of Code 2021: Large Scale Protein Modeling in DeepChem

Hello everyone!

I am Alana Xiang. This summer, I am joining DeepChem as a Google Summer of Code student developer. I will be working on expanding DeepChem’s support for modeling biological molecules by integrating new models (such as RostLab’s ProtBert model) into our code base, with the necessary changes to our infrastructure (eg. featurizers, loaders) to make the addition worthwhile for DeepChem’s users.

A bit about me: I’m an incoming freshman at Stanford excited about software, biology, and informatics. I have been part of the DeepChem community since September, and I’m incredibly eager to make some larger contributions to the project this summer.

I will be posting weekly updates on this thread in case you’re interested in following my work over the next few months.

Edit:

My original project proposal is available here.

4 Likes

Weekly Updates!

Here is what I have been up to for the first month of GSoC.

Week 1
This week for my Google Summer of Code project with DeepChem/Open Chemistry, I made significant headway on the new protein tokenizer class as well as with modifying the existing FASTA loader class. For the protein tokenizer, I have written unit tests and then written a tokenizer that parses FASTA format strings and converts them into integer tokens. For the FASTA loader, I have modified it to accept arbitrary tokenizers for loading FASTA files. These changes should make DeepChem far more capable of parsing arbitrary protein sequences. By the end of the summer, my plan is that these tokenizers will be able to directly process FASTA files and feed their output into a Protein BERT model for predictive modeling. My project’s primary goal was to make DeepChem better able to model proteins, and this week has been a big step in that exciting direction.

Week 2
It’s been a very cool week! I have managed to make a lot of progress on the FASTA loader.