Advice on DeepChem's Ligand Based virtual screening

Hello all,

I’m quite new to deepchem and trying to implement some of the frameworks for my problem at hand. Currently I’m trying my hand at developing a machine learning model for classifying whether compounds can bind to an allosteric site of a particular sodium channel I’m interested in and so am trying to some extent to implement the framework listed in Chapter 11 of Deep Learning for the Life Sciences. What I have done so far is use a subset of the zinc database and perform a ligand based screen using vina for about 10,000 compounds. This has given me binding affinity values for all my compounds. Thereafter, at somewhat arbitrary binding affinity values, I separated out compounds into active compounds i.e. that bind well and decoy compounds i.e. bind with much lower affinity. I then tried to examine the molecular properties as outlined in the workflow but basically the active compounds have a much higher molecular weight than the decoy compounds (log P and charge are very similar between both).

My real question is 1. Is this somewhat of a valid approach to build a rudimentary model or am I doing something very wrong and 2. given the libraries have quite different averages in molecular weights between active and decoy compounds, how should I go about fixing this? Should I use a different starting library in vina or a different approach or a different pre-processing step? I’m happy to clarify anything if needed in much more detail given this is a pretty loose outline without too many specific details. Any help would be much appreciated!!

1 Like

One challenge with your workflow is that you’re using molecular docking (through Vina) to get ground truth data for your model. In effect, this means the learned model can never be more accurate than Vina itself! A nicer strategy is to get experimental data for the assay if possible since otherwise you’re basically just building a fast vina approximation algorithm.